top of page

May 4th MLB Thoughts & DFS Picks

According to ESPN the baseballs are different this year and home runs are down to a record low through the first month of games. We must keep this in mind whilst making our selection. Alright I’ve reviewed the match ups, looked at the ballparks, and hell I even checked out some of the old pitcher-batter stats!! As you may not already know I’m all about future numbers and not so much looking at past numbers to pick my players. Yes, the past can teach us many things but it’s the future where we make our hay here! So will today be about finding those diamonds in the rough or is it the massive salaried players you need to jam into your lineup? Find out for yourself below…


PITCHERS:


Lucas Giolito CHW: I don’t need to do much convincing here.. the guys a stud and the Cubbies are in the first year of a rebuild. The ballpark is hitter friendly but with the new balls this season I’m waiting until summertime to take advantage of Wrigley Field. High Salaried, High Owned pick.


Freddy Peralta MIL: You get my attention when you hold the Phillies to 1 run and 3 hits over 5 innings. That team can absolutely rack!! Then you follow it up with a 7 K, 0 run performance over 6 innings against the lowly Pirates I’ll bet on you to keep things rolling against the Reds. Middle of the road salary wise as well as owned percentage.


Kyle Bradish BAL: We go with the rookie here because he saves us a ton on salary and he will come in very low owned. His one start this season he gave up 2 earned runs against a good Red Sox lineup over 6 innings. The Twins are hot right now and next to the Yankees the hottest team in baseball but they don’t score a bunch of runs, Camden Yards is a pitcher friendly ballpark, and Byron Buxton is getting the day off. So until this kid gets blown up at home I have confidence we can use the salary we save on him getting big bats and not taking a hit with negative points or an atrociously low scoring performance.

BATTERS:


Mike Trout LAA: Whenever you see a guy priced over $6,000 on DraftKings I’m sorry but you have my attention! He can hit em out over the Green Monster with ease so I will have a sturdy helping of Trout tonight.

Judge & Stanton NYY: Since MLB DFS is mostly about finding the right team to stack I will have a section on best teams to stack below. I just couldn’t let these two names go by without mentioning them in a more pronounced way! Fit them into as many lineups as you can. These guys are on FIRE!


Justin Turner LAD: This guy is one of my favorite players in baseball and I pick him probably more than I should but when he’s facing a lefty he’s as good as they come. Since the beginning of the 2017 season, he has a .397 wOBA against them.

Austin Hays BAL: Hays is a gap hitter and Camden Yards fits him perfectly. He already has 7 doubles this season and sports a .782 OPS. I see a lot of writers are on Cedric Mullins and I‘m a fan of his too but I think Hays out scores him and if you can’t tell I’m all over a Baltimore upset win over my Twins tonight.

Rowdy Tellez MIL: Love this guys name and looking around other writers are all over this guy. He grades out terrifically on every measuring tool there is.. Lefties have a lot of success at American Family Field and this guy has hit 5 dingers already this season and just got one last night.

TOP FIVE STACKS:


1. COLORADO


2. NEW YORK YANKEES


3. WASHINGTON


4. MILWAUKEE


5. BOSTON







2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page